The Highlights of Gen-Con

For those of us who are gamers, we all know that Gen-Con is practically a utopia. For four days, you can dress up like your favorite hero, game until midnight and beyond, and buy a leather bikini and a d20 in the same room (If you know what a D20 is, pat yourself on the back).

However, there are a few highlights this years Gen-Con that are worth mentioning. For one the was an “assasination attempt” on me while I was dressed as Rogue from the x-men.

I was walking to a game (in high heeled boots, I was proud) when all of a sudden, I look to the side and see this kid in all black with this fake rubber dagger creeping up behind this other guy. Being the chaotic nuetral person I am, I decided to keep going without giving it a second thought.

A few seconds later, how ever, I feel a dagger pressed against my throat (true story, I am NOT making this up). So, being one that minds this sort of thing, I grabbed the dagger and just started walking. Now the kid on the other end hadn’t let go at this point, so not only was I dragging a dagger, I was dragging along the “assasin.” So the kid starts panicking and shouts at his friend, “I killed her! But she’s not letting go!”

His friend immeadiately replies, (again I am not making this up) “Just let it go man! Just let it go!”

So by this time I’d dragged them to the end of the hall, and decided enough was enough. I drop the dagger, turn around, say “Bye Boys”, and head up the escalator at the far end.

I get to the top, realize I’m going through the wrong exit, then go back down. Now these boys must’ve pulled this stunt with other people, because on the way back, a zombie in orange coveralls gave me a thumbs up.

Another highlight was my first go around with the infinate imaginations group. If you go to Gen-Con, try to get some games with them, they do great work, and I was satisfied with both games I played with them.

(Ps: If you are a GM and you want to GM at Gen-Con or Origins or another gaming convention, please do not consume alchohol before or during the game, it makes for bad reviews and irritates playes)

Unfortunately, the Klingon Jail and Bail wasn’t there this year. That was a slight disappointment.

However, there was a magician/showman/comedian who did several great shows during the con. (He was the Captain America on stilts the last day, if you know who that is.)

If you went to Gen-Con, or you went to Origins, or you have a great Gaming story to share, just comment on this post!

Stay wierd people!

2 thoughts on “The Highlights of Gen-Con

Leave a Reply

