NEWS!!!

One of the things I do in my spare time is write. Mostly dead end ideas, to be explored later of course, but recently I have been working on the beginnings of a novel. I had written about fifty pages when I ran into an old friend of my mother’s who used to be a teacher.

I’d never really had a person look over the novel seriously, except a friend, and if you are reading this now, you should know who you are. So I asked her If she would look over it for me, you know, spell check and grammer and all that jazz. I also wanted to know if I was just fooling myself with this writing thing, so I crossed my fingers and sent her the manuscript.

Here was part of her response that I just got today:

I’ve read your manuscript once and am reading it again. There is so
much for me to learn about the various characters and their
cultures/histories. Your writing has a mature voice, and your word
choice is original and fresh. I like the benevolent attitude that
underscores your work; you are not just an observer of the world
you’ve created. The enthusiasm you have for your characters is easily
captured by your readers.
When I complete my second reading, I will go back and make any
suggestions/corrections related to grammar, spelling, punctuation,
etc. I’m enjoying my time with your words.

I was so happy I started crying right then and there. An excerpt from the manuscript is under “book stuff” along with a few character bios.

Stay wierd people and have a good evening!

Leave a Reply

